The old Llanos de San Sebastian and Santo Domingo (space currently occupied by Aladro Square and Alameda Cristina), had an enormous building activity during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
In this period, Jerez was world famous for its wines, coming to have more than 500 wineries in the course of the nineteenth century. The place, near one of the main entrances to the city, the Puerta de Sevilla, was increasingly frequented by foreigners because of the interest aroused by the wine and other agricultural products Jerez.
Economic wealth, driven by local winemakers in partnership with the City Council, made the spaces between the Llanos de Santo Domingo and San Sebastian to become beautiful squares and walking areas after the cleaning and planting of trees. The construction of the palace of the
Marquis of Montana, now Palace Domecq, had a great influence on the gradual remodeling of
the areas adjacent to the palace, which eventually resulted in elegant landscaped avenue and squares like Cristina Boulevard and subsequently Aladro square.
In 1897, Juan Pedro Domecq Aladro, under the supervisión of the municipal architect José Estévez, began the demolition of the building of the Saint Joseph’s fountain that occupied this place. Later, the space was equipped with gardens and trees all around, installing a fountain from Paris that still presides over the central area of the square.
Regarding the grove which currently offers this square, a centenary foot of Lagunaria or Pica-pica and an example of a Chinese fan palm stand out in it. Facing the square, on the sidewalk of Rosario Street, an alignment of American hackberry -with a unique specimen- can be seen.