Detail Tab: Turismo Jerez - Página oficial

Skip to main content

Sherry Regulating Council

Edificios singulares

The Regulating Council of the Wines and Brandies of the Jerez region protects the Denominations of Origin “Jerez-Xérès-Sherry" - "Manzanilla-Sanlúcar de Barrameda - "Vinagre de Jerez" and the Specific Denomination “Brandy de Jerez”.

The Sherry Regulating Council was the first to publish the Regulations of a Denomination of Origin according to the terms of the Spanish Wine Statute of 1933: that of “Jerez-Xérès-Sherry”, which means that we are talking about the oldest Denomination of Origin in Spain.

The production area of wines protected by the Denominations of Origin "Jerez Xérès Sherry" and "Manzanilla - Sanlúcar de Barrameda" is located in the extreme south of the Iberian peninsula. Only those vineyards located within the municipal boundaries of Jerez de la Frontera, El Puerto de Santa María, Sanlúcar de Barrameda, Trebujena, Chipiona, Rota, Puerto Real, Chiclana de la Frontera and Lebrija, and situated on land which the Consejo Regulador considers suitable, may grow grapes for the production of Sherry and Manzanilla.

The Production Zone currently occupies an area of just over  7,000 hectares.

The area traditionally known as "Jerez Superior" is a subdivision within the Production Zone consisting of vineyards planted in alberiza soil that are ideal for the production of superior quality wines.

Another important geographical delimitation is referred to as the "Ageing and Maturing Zone" - also known as the Sherry Triangle. The ageing of wines protected by the Denomination of Origin "Jerez-Xérès-Sherry" may only take place in the towns of Jerez de la Frontera, El Puerto de Santa María and Sanlúcar de Barrameda and the Ageing Bodegas are therefore all located in these towns.

Avenida Alcalde Álvaro Domecq, 2

(+34) 956 332 050

[Translate to Español:] consejo regulador jerez